ENGL 329 Blog 4

*Using something of Patrick White’s style of writing describe a totally ordinary person in such a way that you reveal their inner humanity, totally different from what their exterior appearance might suggest.

 

I sat waiting at the fountain by Wynyard station, letting the sun and I catch up. I was to meet a friend and she was due to arrive at any moment. While doing so, I watched the chaos of the bus terminals unfold before me. Many business suits and dresses marched out, each carrying a degree of airs and a mind full of work to do. There was one, who wasn’t marching. She strolled out of the bus last. Like she had managed to come to the city on a busy Tuesday morning quite by accident. She was dressed in a green bomber jacket, a black t-shirt underneath sported a tiny rainbow with a gleeful smile. It wasn’t until she got closer, that I realised the rainbow was flipping me off, with little nubby hands. This woman had a compact camera, dangling carefree around her neck, swaying as casually as she felt. Others stared at her, but she had no time for their judgemental gazes.

Image result for city finches sydney She was occupied with a small family of finches that had perched on a stone pylon near a bench. The way she crept up to the seat to talk with the finches, reminded me of a bird herself, leggy and lanky. Awkward, but calm in her steps. The finches didn’t seem to mind, her cyclops bird eye blinked away their images into it’s memory. Speaking the language of birds as she did. 

 

Next Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Hi Mitchell,

    What an engaging read this blogpost was! I particularly enjoyed your ability to show the woman’s humanity as a part of nature, in contrast to the materialistic world that we so often find ourselves trapped in. The air of ease that you give her makes it appear that she just belongs among the finches, within nature, which I think is something we (and your narrator) tend to forget from time to time. The contrast between the chaos of the working class and the calmness of her interaction with the finches worked so beautifully side by side, well done!

    Reply
  2. Anthony Young

     /  October 21, 2019

    Hey Mitch,

    Fantastic blog! I really enjoyed the way you emulated the writing style of Patrick White. Language choices such as personifying the “suits and dresses” as well describing their movement as “marching” really helped generate a vivid picture in my mind. My favourite element was probably the mystery girl with the camera, but I wished you could have a little bit of dialogue for her! She seems like someone I’d like to get to know. Frequenting the city myself I know there is no shortage of colourful characters, so it was easy to imagine the event you described. Overall, excellent creative blog.

    – Anthony

    Reply
  3. Beautiful! A moment captured – in words rather than photos. But it works. Well done Mitch

    Reply
  1. Peer Review: Mitchell Frewen – Duke Of Gloucester
  2. Summerative Entry ENGL 329 | temperantwolves

Leave a comment